Lord Fire is the new project from Theory Hazit and Vintage and is a hip hop showcase. On the first track "Yeah Ya'll" you instantly know that these brothers will give you a vintage sound (pun intended). A great blend of sampled vinyl and boom bap that will reach all across the globe. Theory proclaims that he and Vintage are the new Gangstarr and Reflection Eternal. Wow! Just what hip hop needs, a dose of freshness. Speaking of freshness the next song on this album "Deep Breaths" is just that fresh. This song will make the breakers and lockers break out the cardboard and pumas and get it started. Vintage shows in Deep Breaths his true dj-ing skills lacing the drums with a great sample of japanese flutes and other symphony instrumentals. Check out a couple of bars from this track: 

Lord Fire is laced with awesome beats, memoriable tracks and cameos. However, I would have liked to hear more Hip Hop is Music alumni on Lord Fire.  There is one eyebrow raiser from one of the guest. Holy hip hop veteran Freddie Bruno was featured with a verse on the song "Simply ill". Before I go there, let me say what he dropped was used in the appropriate context of the verse.  A lot of people find this word offensive but I clearly understand what his intentions were. Good intention or not, many folks will have children listening to Lord Fire. One reason is because Theory and everyone involved is repping Christ and the other reason is that this a clean album. So with that being said some folks won't let their children listen to this one track because of this verse. Dropping the N word will ignite a lot of mixed feelings. If you're a parent, listen to the track for yourself and you make the judgement call. Just be aware that it is included. I guess i'm advising adults to do their duty of screening music anyway.  

Overall this is a nearly flawless album if you long for the sound of the golden age of Hip Hop.  If you want an album where you can chant 'Hey' on every song, this is not your album. Theory puts together great life stories which are thought provoking and soul thumping. It makes the album better and better. Vintage and Theory have made one for the record books. God had to give these brothers this heat which in-turn makes Lord's Fire. 

Release Date: June 24, 2008

Record Label: Indie

Track Listing

1 Yeah Yall introdution
2 Deep Breaths
3 All Love (Featuring Elias)
4 Soph Sissy (featuring Playdough)
5 Grizzly (featuring Aletta & Lindsay Orr)
6 Bounce
7 Nobody Say (featuring Raphi and Braille)
8 One Time
9 Jive Turkey (featuring Ohmega Watts)
10 It’s Over
11 Together
12 Angel (featuring Scribbling Idiots)
13 Sonrise (Lord Fire)
14 Rags To Riches (featuring Wonder Brown)
15 Simply Ill (featuring Klarity, Freddie Bruno, and Sivion)
16 It’s Now
17 Go Home (Remix)